Chapter Ten: Writing an Evaluation

I love film. I love movies, TV, all of it. Unfortunately, I know absolutely nothing about it, and I’ve always wanted to know more about the elements of film. This chapter helped me out. Reading it was considerably easier to read than previous chapters; it was magically informative without being dull.

Interesting bits:

Ty Burr’s review of Avatar. I remember the anticipation of the film (the “kool-aid” as Burr calls it) and the mixed response to it. I personally walked out of the theater amazed by the visuals but feeling like I’d just seen a glorified Pocahontas. Burr’s reaction to the film was similar, but stated a bit more eloquently. The side comments were helpful in pointing out how he did what I couldn’t–explain why. His analysis of the special effects, plot, and Cameron’s abilities, in my opinion, were spot on.

The director of Slumdog Millionaire ensuring the movie’s child actors completed their education. A cool tidbit, unrelated to the plot or characters or visuals, but which might influence those who had made negative assumptions about the film’s productions incentive to see it.

Mise en scene examples: Bill Murray, sticking out like a sore thumb in a crowded elevator in Lost in Translation, Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor in a passionate embrace in front of elaborate heart-shaped scenery in Moulin Rouge, Ellen Page’s baby bump front and center in Juno, a stunned Dev Patel surrounded by celebration in Slumdog Millionaire

DIY Media and Design, and the insight into writing film scripts

The three varying reviews of Fight Club and The Departed

Helpful bits:

The Q&A with Ty Burr.

Analysis of theme + your evaluation of execution = evaluative thesis

The elements of film broken down:

  • story elements: character (lines, delivery, acting) and plot (development, pace)
  • visual elements: cinematography (how the movie is filmed), editing (creating a cohesive final product), production design (sets, costumes, props), special effects (animation digital design, stunts)
  • sound elements: the soundtrack (my personal favorite)

And the most important bit:

The Review = plot summary + evaluation

1. plot summary: brief, concise, no spoilers

2. evaluation: the rave, the pan, and the mixed review

Key players: producer, director, writer, actors, cinematographer, editor

All of the things I have to remember to think about and take notes on when I go see the film I’m reviewing (movie TBD):

background information, context

story, characters, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, sound effects, music, costumes, visual impact

All of the things I have to remember to write about in the film review I’m writing:

introduction–context, thesis (evaluation of film), brief summary

body–analyze elements of film, determine film’s strengths and weaknesses

conclusion–worthwhile to see?

 

Standard

Leave a comment